Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

2019 Firefighter of the Year

Post Date:01/23/2020 7:32 AM


John Meyer was named this year’s Firefighter of the Year by his fellow firefighters. John has an obvious love and commitment to the Savage Fire Department. "From the time he joined Savage Fire, John has shown himself to be dedicated, competent, and a leader amongst his peers,” praised Fire Chief Andrew Slama at the recent award ceremony. Around the station, Meyer is a role model for senior, junior, rookie and future firefighters. He is both eager to share his wealth of experience and training in EMS to help others become better and also challenges himself to be the best firefighter he can be, both physically and mentally. “When John shows up for a call, you know you are getting a well-trained, confident and willing firefighter,” stated his peers who nominated him for this award. “He works hard both in training and on the fire ground, and has made a huge impact on our department and his fellow fighters this year.” 

Firefighter of the Year

Left to right: Deputy Chief Ryan Shultz, Firefighter John Meyer, and Fire Chief Andrew Slama

Fire Retirements in 2019

Thank you to following firefighters for their dedication and years of service to the citizens of Savage:

Tyler Ball - 11 years of service
Mark McGregor - 13 years of service 
Pat Mans - 23 years of services 
Tom Stang - 25 years of service

Service Recognition

5 Years 

Brian Huttner
Darin Cizek
James McCue
Jason McDonough
John Brick
Kyle Jacket
Ryan Fecho

15 Years

Dan Lembeck
Doug Becker 

20 Years
Jake VonBank

Return to full list >>